My very own Velveteen Rabbit

I have loved him since I first laid eyes on him in 2009.  He has chased me, stuck by my side and let me use his ears to wipe tears away……Radar the Rescue.  While outside watching the kids play in the water sprinkler I realized it’d been a long time since The Matriarch of the family had his own photo shoot.

RADAR CIRCA 2011                          and                       RADAR CIRCA 2017

Radar_then_now

Sweet baby.  It’s amazing what a marriage, twins, a move and one more baby can do to a man.  I feel ya buddy. HA!

First it’s just a couple grey hairs here and there, skin gets a little saggy, eye sight starts to go and your instincts to jump up in the middle of the night to go investigate any sounds you hear starts to slack – along with your motivation to run and chase every ball in sight like days past.

But  you, my friend Radar, are loyal to the core.   The best babysitter this momma could ask for, full of love – OH SO MUCH LOVE.  You are patient and accommodating when you’ve had your tail pulled one too many times that day by a kid.  You are sweet to share you toys, your space and occasionally your water bowl if the baby finds it.  You are always curious to check on crying babies and make sure everyone is ok.

You are good to take the blame for a lot of things that you don’t do.  You are also good to make sure I am the first to know when someone is doing something they shouldn’t be.  You break up tug of wars over toys with a whip of your tail and you have learned and used good manners at the dinner table by waiting (semi patiently) until everyone is done and we are cleaning up to scrounge around for lost crumbs or fumbled food.

Your humans love you Radar and although the chaos and atmosphere from our 20’s has changed from loud music and rowdy friends to lullabies and family cookouts.  The love in our hearts for you stays the same – full of love for you.

Radar2017Cheers good buddy.  You are a good and faithful Velveteen Rabbit friend. 9 years strong.  That’s a whole lot of ME you’ve put up with.  I LOVE the hair off ya Radar.  Thank you for rescuing me.

Sparkle and Spur,

Dustie Bill

“That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”
― Margery Williams Bianco, The Velveteen Rabbit

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Animals, Babies, Country Life, Dog Days, La Familia, My hearts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My very own Velveteen Rabbit

  1. sidney baker says:

    Oh Dustie… beautiful… we love your precious Radar too .. just beautifully written!❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️😘😘

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

