Country Girl in the City

IMG_3856

Remind yourself Cowgirl –
Being in New York is just like being on a horse.
A big, tall, strong Thoroughbred with fire in his veins and a sparkle of wild in his eye. New York feels just like that.
When you’re on the back of a horse running fast on the track – you can feel the wind in your hair, smell the evening air – hear the deep breaths of the steed beneath you and feel the excitement you get as soon as you thrown your leg over the saddle. You can feel your competitors bumping up next to you and cutting you off as you near you finish line destination.
New York feels just like that.

Those goosebumps on your skin when the weather is just right.  When you can feel the tingle down your back and you pray that it’s gonna be a good ride. New York feels like that for me as soon as I step into Grand Central Station.

I remind myself, over again, that I am in control of the reins and the horse hears my strong words of command
“N 4th street and something or other….”
But ultimately I know in my gut – that New York – just like a horse, is an animal that I can’t control.  There’s no room for anxiety here. The city can sense that. Just like horses.

My anxiety overtook me in the back of that cab. There’s a lot going on anyways in this big city and you add a holiday weekend with that – there’s ALOT going ON! Everywhere. I’d only been in the saddle of this cab about 3 minutes….just long enough to ease into the groove usually but it didn’t feel right – I am SO anxious. I try to listen to my body but my heart is racing.
I take deep breaths from the pits of my chest and I dig deep to relax my body and mind….. the same feeling I would get when I would hear the rodeo announcer say my name as they opened the gates. I find a Drybar Salon on 16th steeet and think a blow out is exactly what I need – groomed hair. WHOA TRUSTY STEED – as my yellow cab horse comes screeching to a stop in the middle of honking traffic.

I get out and play frogger with the other yellow horses in the city. Have you Ever rode in a parade with a horse that has never been in a parade before? It’s an anxious feeling – the candy is being thrown, the crowd gets closer at the end, it’s SO loud, there’s sirens and whistles, the streets are slick and you just Pray that the wild eyed partner underneath you doesn’t spook to one side and if he does he doesn’t take out a section of eager observers. Jitters that you just have to ride out of them and yourself…. and that’s what New York has to do to me…. the city has to grind and work on me till I get my jitters out and I’m throwing shoulders back and walking strong and fast just like the natives in the subway…..

I walk out of that Drybar Salon with fresh hair feeling like the Triple Crown winner. The smells, sounds and wind of New York feels different after that indulgence. I seriously just paid someone $45 to wash, dry and style my hair….. what a luxury to a mom of 3 under 3 and so unpractical of me.

With a toss of my mane – I hail another yellow cab steed like a true New Yorker…. back in another trusty saddle I give my company the commands.

Cowgirl…..sit back and enjoy the sunset on the way – I tell myself. He hears my commands, and obliges me like a true gentleman to my tiny hotel refuge of silence and escape from the city.
Not quite a cowgirl sunset I’m use to but beautiful red white and blue lights on the Empire State Building to celebrate Memorial Day. So many people. So many flags. That’s probably why I don’t see many cowgirls in New York…

Enjoy the ride cowgirl I tell myself
They can feel your emotions
Just like horses.
New York is just like riding a fast horse.
One that can sense vulnerability and fear.
One that you must Ride strong in the saddle with or be left in the New York City dust.

That was one ride I’ll never forget.

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Hold onto what makes you happy – and if it tries to buck you off. Hold on tighter” – R.S Roe

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

