Welcome to our garden….

I’ve never thought of myself as much of a green thumb, but lately those good ole’ 4-H days of horticulture learning have been seeping out because for the first time ever I can really say – I’ve been working in the garden and it’s paying off.  I’m getting such sweet joy and satisfaction from seeing seedling bloom it makes me wonder if I have found a new hobby?  Ya know… because I need another thing to do right? 🙂

Image

 Image

The Oklahoma weather has been providing the perfect amount of gorgeous sun and wet rain.  It’s just what we need in the spring time to make our garden flourish through the hot and dry anticipated summer. 

 Image

I have some new little hosta plants coming up.  I had flower window boxes added to my house and been planting a little bit each week along the way to add to the garden. Begonias are easy and have become my new best friend! 

 Image

I’m hoping that these Butterfly Bush newbie’s keep coming back year after year.

 Image

It’s a constant work in progress but one that keeps me busy while Mr. J is away for work.  Roses have been my favorite thing and the easiest thing for me to keep going! I LOVE the way they smell after a fresh rain! Flowers make my heart SO happy it’s ridiculous! 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The butterflies, hummingbirds and other surprises it’s been bringing to me daily make me wonder why I hadn’t tried this endeavor before.

Image

 Peonies are my newest obsession.  They remind me of my mam-maw.  She had a bog row of peonies that came back bigger and better every year.  We knew not to pick them! 😉 I found out that ants are actually good for the flowers…..they are attracted to the sweet nectar of the flowers and actually help the blooms open by helping pollinate them. The eye buds are set in the late summer into fall for the upcoming year.

Image

Image

Little wonders of surprise are springing up like this little lone egg I found nuzzled up in my hanging begonias.

Image

 Image

Image

Getting my hands dirty in the garden has been nourishing to the earth and to my soul.  Come on sweet summer time!  Anyone else with me?  What’s your favorite garden flower?  

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill
“Blessed is she who believed that the Lord would fulfill his promise to her.” Luke 1:45   

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to our garden….

  1. Linda Goodson says:

    Your flowers are beautiful like their caregiver…..My grandma always told me if you share your flowers your will flourish and grow three fold…Tried to keep that philosophy going…My new favorite flowers are the new perennial salvias and sages..They come back every year bigger and better!!!!

Leave a Reply

