Day 327: Happy Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommas out there today.  Whether you’ve beard them yourself, raise someone’s else’s, lost a child, wished you had some, wished you could drop yours off – I believe that if you have a true mother’s heart this day is for us to celebrate YOU!!    

I don’t do odes to my mom very much because she’s just not that kinda sappy lady – and she didn’t’ raise me to be much of one either but I’m dedicating today’s blog to MY mother because throughout all our years of the common but complicated mother-daughter dynamic I have grown to appreciate her more and more for the person she is.  Not just for being my mom.  

My mom is unique, like yours.  There is not another one like her!  My mom is something else – a pistol, a teacher, a business woman, a compulsive volunteer, a philanthropist……She’s wild and western and a tad sassy if the moods right.  

Raising me as a hard-working, single mom she was never too busy to run me from one activity to the next.  I have always been her everything and her mine.  We went to Dance, Rodeo, Softball, Basketball, Girl Scouts, FCA, FFA, 4-H…….I could go on forever!  I don’t ever remember her NOT being in the stands to cheer me on or taking pictures.

The older I get the more and more I start to appreciate who she REALLY is and all that she’s REALLY been through.  My dad was a pistol too, my step-dad lost his marbles after 15 years of marriage and finally on “third time is a charm” she got the luck of the drawl and found my step-dad Randy who is a gentle, old soul and very wise beyond his years too. 

She has a servant’s heart.  I use to just think she was just “certifiable” with all the volunteering, sitting on committee after committee and being on just about every board in the Tri County area. 

But after years of watching her bake goodies for the community, recognize efforts of hard working people, stay up tirelessly working on paperwork and documents that needed to be turned in by a deadline, help the 4-H’ers, give to FFA and tireless efforts to make this community a better place to live…….I realized she’s not CRAZY she’s a true giver.  A true selfless giver of her time, resources, money and knowledge.  A servant’s heart….because there is NO way in someone’s right mind that they would or could do all that she does and NOT be considered certifiably crazy.

I always use to try and get her to “chill out”, “take some time for herself”…I even tried to take her tanning with me so she could “relax” for 20 minutes and she said “all she could think about the entire time she was laying there was all these other things she could do.”  REDICULOUS I thought! Ludicrous! Absurd!  How do you not charge your own batteries and still give to others?  I don’t know because I didn’t get this remarkable quality of my mothers I can only hope to learn to give by example through the self-less generosity she shows every day.

My mother amazes me for a number of reasons.  But as we sat around at family dinner the other night she started telling my sister and I about how her and my step-dad had the opportunity to meet a couple in the community who had children of their own but had chosen to foster (now adopt) six severely handicapped children that had been in their care.  Side note:  My mother was a special education teacher for 13 years.

The woman happened to be in the Tag Agency mentioning that one of her son’s birthday was coming up and how much he loved “big trucks.”  Chance encounter miracles happen every day.  It just so happens that my step-dad owns a trucking company.  Long story short.  On the Saturday of the birthday party my mom and randy went and got a “big truck” all shined up and ready to make an appearance at a complete strangers sons birthday party north of town.

  1. How many people do you know that would have never followed up with the woman about the party in the first place?
  2. How many people do you know who would be willing to give up their Saturday to bring something to a birthday party of a stranger you don’t know?
  3. How lucky my sister and I are to be able to be a part of that kind of selfless generosity…..a true gift of giving.  One that no one had to know about for it to create a huge impact.  That’s the important kind of giving!

I needed to know more…..how did it go?  Was it weird? (you know you were wondering too) how were the kids?  Did the birthday boy love it? 

It went better than fantastic.  The birthday boy LIT up, LOVED it, didn’t want to get out of the truck, honked the horn, clapped his hands and a simple gesture of giving a little time and effort on my families part….changed one life FOREVER!  A birthday that will NEVER be forgotten by two families – and the real gift was the ripple effect it had that we all got to be a part of it.  Thank you lord for those kinds of blessings and thank you for my mom who I think is pretty rockin’ for all the things she does that are in the paper, but ESPECIALLY for all the things she does when no one even knows.  

Sparkle and Spur
Hug your mom if you can
and make someone else’s day by going out of your way a lil

Dustie Bill

“The man is the richest whose pleasures are the cheapest.” ~Henry David Thoreau

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

