Day 300: Lay me down on a bed of orange roses…

 

I love orange roses!  They remind me of my dad, Oklahoma State University and a job I once had in high school as a gardener where the nice owner Ms. Deb gave me a fragrant cloud rose bush as payment for the summer.  I planted it right outside my window so I could smell it when I opened it up and there was a nice breeze. 

When my mom and I moved from that house after her divorce I HATED to leave it behind but still to this day think about that rose bush and hope that the people who live there now enjoy it as much as I did. 

My house now has two orange rose bushes.  One in memory of my mam-maw and one in memory of my dad. 

Here in Oklahoma the red clay earth makes it hard for rode bushes to take root so when Ms. Deb gave me the rose bush she showed me how to fill the hole with about an inch or two of mulch and leaves before the dirt goes in the hole so that the roots can get a good healthy start before they hit clay.  🙂  Just passing it along!  Thanks Ms. Deb!   

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Nothing is particularly hard if you divide it into small jobs.” ~Henry Ford

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

