Day 276: My favorite number…

You’re going to think I’m crazy…..but if you read this blog often you already know this about me!

You might think I’m kidding about my “lucky rainbows” but I BELIEVE and I have proof of what a difference a day can make in our lives.  

Yeah I’m gonna brag a little bit about my umpire in this blog – which I don’t usually do because it embarrasses him and he doesn’t think EVERYONE needs to know our business.  (so if you’re not into that sort of thing you might want to tune out now and just enjoy the photo muse) 😉

For the most part he’s right, this is OUR journey and it’s not everyone’s business.  But with so many “unknowns” always being handed to us – “unknown crews”, “unknown schedules”, “unknown call-ups” and “unknown future”..…the one thing I am MOST certain about the game is my unwavering support and respect for Jordan no matter what comes our way.  Because no matter where he’s at or what he’s doing my love for him doesn’t waiver. 

Baseball has taught me a lot about trust, patience, faith, dedication, loyalty and respect.   I am SO appreciative to the game and the opportunities it provides us – a chance to travel, to grow and learn as people and it’s teaching this cowgirl how to get back into the saddle of “letting go and letting God.”

My muse is one that is a little ironic.  There was this lonely baseball on the table that I noticed the first day I got in.  It had Jordan’s signature with a #?, his roommate’s signature and #83 and then Broadie (poor dog) with #K-9 (I’m assuming something that might have taken place after a time that adults our age shouldn’t be awake) 😉  hahaha!

It made me smile, thinking of how dedicated and hard working all the umpires I know are.  Wondering what it takes to get an MLB number……I thought maybe one day he won’t be a #??.

Well, this morning we woke up to an 8 a.m. phone call on his “off-day”.  Preparing for the worse but expecting the best.  It was the phone call that changed our lives! J He’s no longer #?.  He’s officially MLB #71~ My new favorite number for my favorite umpire!  He wasn’t the only one! There were 3 numbers given out this year and it is SO fun to be on this journey with our extended umpire family.  There is still work to be done and more miles before we sleep but I can’t forget to stop and celebrate life’s achievements along the way.     

I don’t mean to get all mushy gushy.  But I do have to tell you how exciting it is to get to be a part of someone else’s dreams and watch them come true.  I am appreciative for a lot of things in my life….but nothing like I am that I was able to be there and celebrate the good news with my umpire.  In this world of “unknowns” I have to thank my double lucky rainbows for this one! 😉

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Wealth consists not in having great possessions, but in having few wants.” ~Esther De Waal     

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Baseball, Beginnings, Favs, LoVe, My hearts, Reflections, Smiles, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

