Day 261: Rainbow Smile…

This is my office window view…..well sort of…I have to walk out the doors to get this close but you get the point…I’m blessed! 🙂

My mam-maw use to always tell me that rainbows were the angels way of sending down little smiles to people they loved.  Little inquisitive Dustie use to ask her how the people who were suppose to know if it was for them or not?

She’d explain that the message was meant to be received by the ones who were lucky enough to stop and notice God’s beauty. 😉  30 years later and I see a rainbow and even though I know the science of rainbows….I like my mam-maws explanation better!

I miss her….she was full of goodness that I think the world needs more of.  She’d let me stay in big church with her if I promised to color and be quiet, she always made me coke floats in her fancy goblets, she let my tiny fingers touch and ring her collection of bells anytime I wanted, she trusted and showed me how to entertain myself out on the back patio of her house and always but a cherry in the middle of my grapefruit.

Back then those things were just who made my mam-maw who she was to me but as I’ve gotten older I’ve realized the importance of how she lived her life. 

Lets face it……Big church made my tiny wee self feel more special than “children’s church” and it allowed me to learn about religion WITH my mam-maw, China and fancy goblets are meant to be eatin on – NOT collect dust, tiny things get broken and lost but the memory of her bell collection will ring in my heart forever, teaching me independence showed me that if you don’t love your self it’s hard give your love to others and a cherry ALWAYS makes a grapefruit sweeter!

I hope to leave a legacy like that…..full of goodness!

Sparkle and Spur and search out the goodness today

Dustie Bill

“And when it rains on your parade…look UP rather than down…because without the rain there would be no rainbow.” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Art, COLOR, Nature, Oklahoma Skies, Rain, Reflections, Smiles, Sunshine, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 261: Rainbow Smile…

  1. Misti says:

    This blog post warmed my heart and made me smile!

Leave a Reply

