Daffodil LOVE from above…

Loss is never easy…especially loss of a family member.  Not just any family member, but one you really loved and thought of more as a friend you would pick than family. 

Cancer is ugly and it robs the world of such beautiful, talented and energetic people.  People who I look at as young, invincible and lively.  It doesn’t discriminate and it leaves heartache and loss in its destructive path.  Cancer effects almost everyone some way and some how.

Today we are all morning the loss of our beloved Clay.  Even when anticipated, it is never easy to accept or let go. 

My daily devotional today read, “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: 2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;” Ecclesiastes 3

Clay taught me ALOT! He taught me about the world, how to be self-less, how to love adventure, and how to LIVE.  He introduced me to cashmere; planned, booked and accompanied us on our trip to Las Vegas for my 21st birthday AND hosted a dinner party for us complete with a limo ride to eat at Andre’s (prob one of the FANCIEST meals I’ve ever had); he was a FANTASTIC cook (which he passed on to his daughter Taylor and spoiled us all with during the holidays); he also planned, booked and hosted us all in New Orleans for my 22nd birthday where we got to stay in the Ritz Carlton (the ONLY time I’ve ever got to stay on a floor that you had to have a key pass to get there); he taught me the importance of family and a selfless kind of giving and a love like I had never known.  He was a part of my heart and we all miss his laugh and his presence. 

This week, to keep my mind off the grief of his sickness, I’d been worried about the little daffodil sprouts that have been coming up a little pre-maturely in my garden.  I’ve not had much luck with planting bulbs and was rather annoyed at the thought of them not blooming again.

Today as I was pulling out my driveway thinking about the line “To every thing there is a season” – I glanced over to see my little sprouts of a daffodil had bloomed.  🙂  FULL and BOLD!

One tall brave one stretched out wide to the heavens as if ready for whatever comes in store for it….and I thought of Clay. 

The lord must have been short an exceptional, lively, loving and energetic man for him to need our Clay before we were ready to let him go but in my heart I tell myself that he’s already gotten to hug my mam-maw and all the other family we have up there waiting on us and now I hope he is somewhere on a beach with the sun on his shoulders and the wind in his angel wings knowing that his life of adventure is just beginning. 

SUNSHINE CLAY
“When you look into the sunshine please see my face and smile –
 slow down, breathe deep, sit upon the rocks and be with me awhile.

Do not be too sad that I’ve gone, for you too will not be left behind,
just know I’m smiling down from heaven because the Lord knew it was my time.

Dry your tears and try not to be sad, tell all my stories that make others laugh
and know my sweet dears that I’m not too far away, just on a new path.

When you look into the sunshine please see my face and smile,
hold me close in your heart and be with me awhile.”
~Dustie Bill

Sparkle and Spur

DB

“We can not really love anyone whom we never laugh.” ~Agnes Repplier

“Fair daffodils, we weep to see / You haste away so soon: / As yet the early-rising sun / Has not attained his noon.” ~Robert Herrick

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Art, Beginnings, Clouds, COLOR, Crosses, Garden, grass, La Familia, LoVe, My hearts, Reflections, Self, Smiles, Sunshine, Wildflowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daffodil LOVE from above…

  1. Ashley Taron says:

    Thinking of you and your family today, and always. I never got to meet him, but he sounded like a great, fun person to know be around.

  2. Beautiful. Loss is hard to deal with but you have an insight most do not.

Leave a Reply

