Day 245: Something blue…

Call me crazy if you will – but in my heart of hearts I believe that sometimes if we are conscious enough about our surroundings that sometimes we are lucky enough to receive little gifts from heaven. 

I know I’ve been talking about my Mam-maw  ALOT lately and it’s not to be mournful of what I don’t have in my life because I am a VERY lucky and blessed girl to have all the wonderful people I DO have in my life.  It’s just a little ray of sunshine happiness when I find things that make me think of her magnificent self and I can reflect on all the joy, wisdom and love she brought to my life.  I am very blessed to have even known my GREAT grandmother much less have gotten to spend so many wonderful years with her.  She was a very religious and kind person.  Always thinking of others and rejoicing in the Lord.  A first grade teacher she taught me to read before my other peers, the importance of an education, told me stories about picking cotton, about her dad, family and how farm life was back in the dust bowl.

She met my Pap-paw in the church singles Sunday group.  He was as an EXCEPTIONAL man as my Mam-maw was a woman and they were quite a pair.  He was kind and gentle and taught me about diabetes (when he would let me help him check his sugar).  He was retired from the Navy and they loved to go to the lake and camp in their RV.  He taught me to swim and how REAL men treat women.  Although he DID set that standard a little high as my mam-maw never had to pump gas in her own car!!!   

When I was about 12 she found and gave me her wedding garter from their special wedding day.  My “something blue.”  Through the years – graduating, moving, re-moving, break-ups, losing loved ones – life happens and although I never forgot about the garter it wasn’t really ever something that I needed.  So it got packed away and stored. 

The garter has been on my mind since I got engaged.  I’ve torn up boxes after boxes hoping and praying that it would turn up.  I knew I must have put it in a secret special hiding spot but just where that place was I had no idea?!?! How could I be so careless and irresponsible? 

Then yesterday, cleaning out the garage I found a box from high school.  Tucked behind my Girl Scouts brownie sash with patches and my dad’s boy scout manual there it was……my something blue. 

My heart lept and I looked to the sky with a twinkle of a tear rolling down and thanked the heavens for my Mam-maw message.  I am SO grateful for my found treasure and for my Mam-maw.  All that she was to me…and all that she still is!!

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill     

“Family life is a little bit like a runny peach pie – not perfect, but who’s complaining?” ~Robert Brault

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Favs, La Familia, LoVe, My hearts, Reflections, Smiles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 245: Something blue…

  1. Ashley Taron says:

    🙂 Such a great story 🙂 I LOVE the “crossing hearts” in pearls! SO pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

