Day 237: Mam-maw Letter…

I have a letter on my fridge that is from my Mam-maw…I keep it as close to me physically as I hold in my heart.  She was one of the MOST important people of my life and it’s a reminder.  A reminder of what kind of person I want to be, how much she loved me and that it’s OK not to be perfect.  Yes….I feel all of this when I hold the letter. 

I like to run my hands over the fonts and think about her holding it too and writing with her fast shaky hands.  Her handwriting is so recognizably distinct to me.  If you can see on the top she dated it 1901 instead of 2001…..this in itself is a reminder to me of ALL sorts of things…..that her mind wasn’t as sharp as it once was, that we all get in a hurry and make mistakes, that sometimes the words we want to say in the letter are flowing so fast from our brain to our fingers that we make errors.

 It tells me how proud she is of me and how to always remember to keep JOY in my heart. 
J-Jesus
O-Others
Y-Yourself

It talks about how she prays to the lord that she’ll get to see me graduate from OSU and how she is appreciative that I always wanted them to be a part of my activities….sadly the lord had another plan for her but I know she still got the best seat in the house when I walked across the Oklahoma State graduation ceremony. 

When I hold this letter it makes me feel all the love she had for me and all the strength I need from her now.  It’s the muse that I keep in my heart…on my fridge and now on my blog.

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Favs, La Familia, LoVe, My hearts, Reflections, Self, Smiles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 237: Mam-maw Letter…

  1. Aunt Tootsie says:

    Oh Dustie.. You know I am shedding some tears right now as I write. This is so sweet and precious. You said it just right. I miss her so much, too, and really need her….especially right now. We must remember, as you said, she is always with us as we feel her caring loving spirit every minute of every hour….She loved you so very much….and so do I…Aunt Tootsie…

Leave a Reply

