Sunset Flight…

When the flight attendants give us the briefing on plane safety the instructions clearly state to “Put your own mask on first.”  If you don’t put your own mask on first you are useless to help others who might need it.  I researched that there are only about 20 seconds of consciousness if the plane were to run out of oxygen (no I don’t have control issues) 😉  HAHA!! But 20 seconds isn’t much time to get things done!

How often do we just ignore these instructions?  I’m NOT just talking about in flying either…..  How many times do we worry about other people and rush around meeting their needs forgetting that we have needs of our own that need to be met.  We don’t put ourselves first for fear of being called selfish or self-centered…. (Not to our faces of course)   

Doesn’t it bring up a good point that maybe we spend so much time worrying about others so we don’t have to worry about ourselves?  If I focus on you – I don’t have to focus on myself!?!?  Does bailing out your irresponsible child time and time again really save them from failure or does it merely put YOU in the limelight of being the SAVIOR and reinforce your own self-image?!?    

Put YOUR own mask on first!! When you nurture yourself first you’re better able to help others – my own oxygen mask might resemble me taking a bubble bath, reading a good book, taking a little vacation or catching a sunset…….just imagine the possibilities for yourself when we stop letting others make us feel guilty for taking care of ourselves!!

Sparkle and Spur and be SELFISH…it’s ok!

Dustie Bill

“When you take charge of your life, there is no longer need to ask permission of other people or society at large.  When you ask permission, you give someone veto power over your life.” ~Albert F. Geoffrey

“What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.” ~Ellen Burstyn

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Clouds, Nature, Reflections, Self, Sunsets, Sunshine, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

