Day 209: Shadow Play…

Every now and then I’ll come across some type of muse that just speaks to my heart….tonight when I got home from a long day this one happened to be staring me in the face.  Everything seemed to fall into place for me and I laughed at myself for being so analytical.  

One of my dad’s favorite cowboy statues was casting a shadow on my wall and I thought for just a second that it must be a sign that my rootin’ tootin’ cowboy hero was sending down a little smile just for me – bc boy did I need it today!

This statue is one of my favorites also bc it looks like how my dad would stand.  With his hips tipped forward, rocking on the toes and hill of his boots, hands buried inside the pockets of a worn out pair of wranglers and a cowboy smirk hiding mischief under a mustache.  The shadows made the ordinary, extra-ordinary to me today!

My scentsy illuminated the statue bigger than life on the wall and the Jack Daniels flask made the shadow look like a barrel (appropriate if you knew my dad) the light made a heart to the right and I thought how did this all come together so perfect?

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“If I had a single flower for every time I think about you, I could walk forever in my garden.” ~Unknown

“I heard someone whisper your name, but when I turned around to see who it was, I was alone. Then I realized that it was my heart telling me that I miss you.” ~Anonymous

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Abstract, Country Life, Cowboys, La Familia, Lights, My hearts, Reflections, Self, Silhouettes, Twilight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 209: Shadow Play…

  1. mairi says:

    I love these “lucky” photographic moments. This particular one is so beautiful, witty and hopeful. I love it!!!

    (this is SUPERHERO Mairi 🙂

Leave a Reply

