Day 197: Taylor Tough…

I talk about being “cowgirl tough” on here every once in a while and so today’s muse couldn’t be more fitting for the slogan except that Taylor’s more of a fantastic cook than she cares to be a cowgirl……it’s just that she has such a cowgirl heart!  SO today’s muse is about being “Taylor Tough”!

 

When my cousin Taylor was born she was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis in both her lungs and intestines.  The doctors told us not to expect much of a long life for her if much of one at all….but what science can’t ever teach us about are walking, breathing true miracles that we see on our own….and they obviously didn’t know “Taylor Tough”!

 

Taylor has stayed in a hospital 100X about as much as an average kid would have spent in school.  About the time she’d start feeling better she’s catch another cootie from being in the hospital and her battle towards recovery would begin again…She’s lost vision in her eye due to cancer that she overcame, she’s a miracle product of a double lung transplant… we just celebrated her Six Year Lungaversay in July…and is such an inspiration to us all!

 

I’m not going to go into all that she’s been through because I would never do her medical history justice, I’d leave something out that’s she’s overcome and MOST important that’s just NOT who Taylor is! 🙂 From the very start I’ve never heard her complain or be negative – only toughing it out, surprising even the most veteran medical workers and amazing us all with her positive attitude and great sense of humor. 

 

PSHAAA…. to all those doctors who scratch their heads time and time again as she defeats her illnesses.  She’s turning into a GORGEOUS 20 year old woman who is more educated about medical equipment, ect. than most people who study it for years. 

These pictures were a super surprise for her dad and grandma’s so her mom brought her up and let me take these of her! I have never been SO excited or honored to do pictures! 🙂 What a fun day it was spending time with Taylor and Jane and I sure wished I could have been there to see the looks on Bonga and Clay when they opened their gifts. 

Such a special woman, such a special heart and such a special time spent together….Taylor means the world to me and will be one of my bridesmaids this coming September so I’m looking forward to getting to spend some more time together!

XOXOXO

Sparkle and Spur

“A strong positive mental attitude will create more miracles than any wonder drug.” ~Patricia Neal

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Gypsy, La Familia, My hearts, Smiles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

