Day 196: Laundry Day…

Today as I looked at my domestic handy work of my umpires neatly folded pile of laundry that I had just accomplished, a thought came to mind that made me crack up!!!  Ttoday my beautiful stack of freshly piled laundry is my muse to remind me of the day I got fired from the laundry mat in college……how do you get fired from a job of cleaning other people’s nasty laundry and folding it up pretty and neat for them to come and pick up? I don’t know either….It’s not like it’s a hot commodity position……I even called my mom once to see if I could catch anything from dirty laundry……I was devistated when they told me they’d no longer need my services….was my fold not tight enough?     

And for the RECORD…..It’s the ONLY job I’ve ever been fired from….

During that laundry mat job I learned that some people have NO shame…..and my most favorite memory is a college football player (names not given to protect the innocent) who would always come in after about 3 months of not doing laundry!!! UGH!!!  (YEAH….you ladies can understand) and low and behold there would always be about 4-5 different pairs (in different sizes) of ladies frilliest…..:) He was charming and cute so I’d always politely tuck the colored pairs of undergarments in the bottom, pretending I never saw, and hope that he was smart enough to not be lazy and put away his own laundry before a “helper” found the unsuspecting stash…..I also always wondered if the missing pairs ever got returned to their rightful owners or if maybe they just got thrown in the trash so there was no confusion….I know such an imagination I have!! 🙂

Today I am thankful that I only have to fold mine and my umpire’s dirty clothes now days…..I sure wish I could go back and have another shot…you’d be amazed at what a 6’7” 2XT man’s clothes will teach you….I think I’m a pro laundry folder now! 🙂  Well my job is done…now where is that umpire of mine so he can master the putting away and hanging up of the laundry?!?!  🙂

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Everything comes out in the wash.” ~Unknown

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Favs, Football, La Familia, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

