Day 176: Horses with Halo’s

I LOVE horses….I’ve had them all my life and I’ve LOVED every one of them through the years as if they were family!  All the way back from my very first 15 hand goat tying champion Doll (who was really my mom’s horse), to my “Beginner Barrel Horse” Cupids Gold Bar the Palomino, Taco the big Black Bulldozer thoroughbred, Jack who was a present from my step-dad for my 21st Birthday and Buttons my Roany Pony Baby whom I inherited when my dad passed away! 🙂  Each one is so special to me and each one hold a special piece of my heart.

I love that they all have their own personality…..I also love that over the years through my 4-H, FFA, Rodeo, County Fairs and even a small stint on the OSU Equestrian team that  I have also seen the effects of how helpful, therapeutic and healing these animals can be.

There are several therapeutic riding centers that help serve children and adults with disabilities.  It’s a complex and exciting means of therapy that produces tangible, physical, psychological, cognitive, social, and educational benefits to the participants. 

The horse’s movement simulates a normal human gait. This in turn stimulates the rider physically and cognitively toward reaching therapeutic goals. This gentle rhythmic movement helps improve balance, muscle control and tone, motor development and coordination, posture, strength and overall body awareness.  And riders, many for the first time in their lives, can experience the freedom and joy of independent movement.  Seeing a connection made between a horse and rider is something that words don’t do justice.

Horses have halos – if you’re asking this cowgirl – even if you can’t see them! J

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“There is something about riding down the street on a prancing horse that makes you feel like something, even when you ain’t a thing.” ~Will Rogers

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Country Life, Livestock, My hearts, Nature, Oklahoma Skies, Ponies, Sunsets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

