Day 168: Not a creature was stirring…

I am so blessed to be a part of a neighborhood that has so much Christmas spirit.  My neighbors were all out and about not long after Thanksgiving hustling and bustling around getting their houses all decorated for the holiday. 

Not to be out done…..we jumped on the bandwagon and I thought I’d take some time to capture what we have inside tonight.  I’ve wanted to practice making the lights on my tree look starburst…before I started trying to get them outside…..P.S..you MUST have a tripod for this.  But it makes them look outstanding and so bright! What do you think?

 

When I was little I use to complain about having to help my mom put up the tree….not because I didn’t LOVE Christmas but because my mom would take FOREVER….getting out each little squished Styrofoam glittered ornament that some “special student” had made for her “this year” and there would be a story to follow…….and when you are 7 years old…..you know that you’d rather be watching a Christmas movie too….. 😉

 

But as I’ve gotten older and especially this year I realized how much I miss doing that…and hearing each little story about each little ornament and why it is so dear and special to my mom…… and how I find myself NOW doing it to Jordan. 🙂 haha! I would get one out and say, “Ohhh….RIP Tipper…..do you remember when my mom got me this one for Christmas for my first adopted dog.” (that we no longer have)  Or “Ohhh look, this one was one of my mam-maw’s, how special.” 

 I am my mothers daughter….I just can’t help it……  and now I am fascinated with other people’s trees…..and when I look at their ornaments I think about how special they are to them and my imagination runs rapid with thoughts about where they got them.

Ohhhhhh…Christmas Tree……ohhh….Christmas Tree…… 

Sparkle and Spur and Spread some holiday cheer.

 Dustie Bill

“The best of all gifts around any Christmas tree is the presence of a happy family all wrapped up in each other” ~Burton Hills

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Christmas, La Familia, Lights, My hearts, Smiles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 168: Not a creature was stirring…

  1. So pretty! And I love that Tipper has his own ornament. I think I will have to do something like that when me dogs go.

Leave a Reply

