Day 149: Nothing is set in stone…

I read on a friends blog that she posted with a saying that spoke to my heart….it read that her “dad always told her” ‘BLESSED ARE THE FLEXIBLE.  FOR THEY WILL NOT BE BENT OUT OF SHAPE.’

This morning as I bundled up by the window and checking my schedule to see what was on the “to-do” – I watched Radar run around carefree and CrAzY this morning in the 28 degree weather (isn’t it funny how the weather can affect animals?) I was thinking how nice it would be to live so simple and carefree like that.  Running around without a care in the world…..  “Blessed are the flexible.” Hmmm….

Words to remember when things don’t always go the way we “planned” or there is a switch up that leaves us scrambling to change a schedule.   I forget sometimes to remember the blessings that can come from change and sometimes only focus on the 😦  because I don’t like change…. BUT the lord gives us hope and everything else that we need to push forward and be where we are SUPPOSE to be maybe not where we would like or think we should. 

Today Jordan was suppose to be home….. but BLESSINGS came our way and baseball honored Jordan by choosing him as 1 of 4 to work the Championship Game for the Fall League.  🙂 I’m OVER the moon and SO excited and thrilled for him and would give him up to baseball ANY day that they wanted him…..but I am a little disappointed from all the built up anticipation of his patiently awaited arrival (bc you KNOW I’m such a patient person) 😉

SO I went chasing a pasture sunset…..reflecting on all the GREAT things that the Lord has blessed us with and all the things that are to come and remembering that the “flexible don’t get bent outta shape!”  So I worked on my patience and I waited

And waited….

and waited….

 

And I waited and thanked God for all I have and don’t have in my life

 

And I got my sunset just like I’m gonna get my umpire back – even if it’s NOT exactly when or what we thought it was going to be!  PATIENCE!!!

We already have a custom and tailor made “fairytale” mapped all out for US….. the trick is to stay flexible even in the most ridged of times so that it can play out the way it is destined to be all along. 

Because let face it….as much as I am a “Type A”, schedule everything I can, type of person…..I’m reminded daily that I’m NOT THE ONE IN CHARGE HERE! 😉 I forget this sometimes too!  

So I’m making the time today to be thankful for the blessings that I don’t realize are blessings…….I guess those would be those “blessings in disguise”        

Sparkle and Spur and count YOUR blessings!

Dustie Bill

“I am a man of fixed and unbending principles, the first of which is to be flexible at all times.” ~ Everett Dirksen

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in COLOR, Country Life, Farming, Sunsets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

