Day 143: Famous in a Small Town…

My friend Sara (whom I LOVE to use as my muse, and am ALWAYS trying to talk into being my model for some of my MOST crazy ideas) has been ON me about getting pictures of myself done for my business.  Why do people need to put a face with a name?!?!  😉  RELUCTANTLY I agreed, but only if SHE’D take them and I do believe I have found my friend Sara’s secret hidden talent……..SECOND SHOOTER PLEASE! 🙂

So here we go to try and tackle ME and Main Street! 😉

 

 

Downtown Ealrsboro is one of my MOST FAVORITE spots.  I LOVE the Small Town America feel, where the feed store is right across the street from the post office, café’s around the corner AND the water company’s down the street (the only things in the town)!  We gathered up some antique “treasures”, Sara called her friends Ray, Monte and Simone Mize (THANK YOU) to make sure that we could go snap away in front of J&J Feed and off we went! 

 

My “treasure” in hand is my Pap-paw Jim’s old Canon 35 mm camera that my Grandma Carolyn let me bring home from my last trip to Texas.  I LOVE old vintage cameras and ESP this one that belonged to my pap-paw!   

 

This is one of those “experiments” that I suggest EVERY photographer should do! Get photographed….. First lesson (something I ALWAYS tell my clients) – we NEVER see ourselves the way others see us; Second lesson – we NEVER like photos of ourselves; Third lesson – it’s hard to “model”…. I NEED SOME DIRECTON….which means I should start practicing on how direct my clients to help them feel more comfortable and Fourth lesson….. do I really look like that when I laugh, I talk, I smile?!?!? EEEK (please refer to lesson #1) 

Mental note to myself that I HAVE to remember NOT to do this….and this….and this when it’s time for wedding pictures! Hahah!  We’re TOO HARD on ourselves but seriously my eyes are so squinty! 

Now “SAW-DUST” (Sara and I) somehow always manage to find some kind of “trouble”.  If the passing cars stopping in town causing a traffic jam wondering what us girls were up (as Sara scoured building in her heels to get the perfect “angle”) to wasn’t enough – well, the friendly sheriff in town stopped in to check and see if us “troublemakers” needed to be arrested?!? 🙂 hahaha! MAYBE!! 😉  FAMOUS IN A SMALLTOWN! 

WE wondered if we could hitch hike our way outta here?!? 🙂 

There was a little rickety “house” that I just HAD to use as I’ve been DYING to get my lens on it……. so here’s our best interpretation of a “desperate housewife”….”HONEY, I think the window needs a new screen.”

 

 

Sara was on a roll (SHE’S AWESOME) and so off to chase the sunset we went – AND to capture the “runaway bride” 🙂 P.S…..I should have adjusted my camera for her before we got to the sunset becuase her eye caught some that the camera wasn’t set for!! 😦

It’s weird to think and see myself as a bride….I’ve never thought of me as that.  This goes back and falls into that category of how things change, people change and WE change.  I think of myself as Dustie the student, the Coordinator of Media Relations, the photographer, the volunteer, Miss Involved, the friend, daughter and sister……ect. 

I’ve had to come to grips with my new way of thinking of myself more as Dustie the soon-to-be wife of Jordan and maybe even a mother someday…..WIERD! 🙂 Good and GREAT but just takes a little getting use to.  I’m still the same ole’ Dustie as above…. it’s just as our list of “things” grows we learn to re-arrange and change our priorities. We try to learn and accept our new responsibilities and the way we and the WORLD see us. 

This was TOO much fun! My friend is GOOD! 🙂 NEXT time….I get to go back behind the lens though – where I’m more comfortable, because thanks to our fun on the run I have now found my new FAVORITE fall backdrop!

Family Train Track Photo Shoot Anyone?!?! Thank you my “Wara” 🙂 You’re the BEST!

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Let the world know you as you are, not as you think you should be, because sooner or later, if you are posing, you will forget the pose, and then where are you?” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in COLOR, Country Life, Crosses, Dirt, Fall, Fierce, Friends, Gypsy, My hearts, Oklahoma Skies, Reflections, Self, Sunsets, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 143: Famous in a Small Town…

  1. Heather Holley says:

    This blog made my heart smile 🙂 your so beautiful!1

  2. Astra Holmes says:

    Dustie these photos are great! You look gorgeous as always!

  3. dustiebill says:

    HEATHER I LOVE you, you’re too sweet! 🙂 When are you gonna let me get my lens on YOU! 😉 I smell something ROCKSTAR for you!!! XO Or maybe something a lil sweet for Bob?!?! hehe

Leave a Reply

