Day 137: Arizona Dust Bowl 2011…

My umpire’s been off  in Arizona for Fall League for about a month now.  I’ve been missing him.  He’s a solid rock for me when the seas of worry, doubt, stress start rocking my boat.  So we try not to go longer than a month seeing each other..…we planned a trip, started the countdown and the day FINALLY came where I could hop a plane from Oklahoma and go and see him…..not just any flight this time.  A DIRECT 2 hour, no problemo flight…..(I’m thankful for the little things like this because flying fromOklahomato anywhere is almost impossible to get a direct flight)!!

I get a little antsy flying (who me?) haha!  But I LOVE to get a window seat. When it’s clear I love to see the sun shining off the clouds.  When it’s at night I love to see all the city lights when we come in.  I like to look out the window and think and dream and watch the beauty of what God has created.  My mind wonders around from one subject to another until I’ve pre-occupied myself so much that we’re at our destination!   

Today I got to witness something that you don’t see everyday and that you definitely don’t get a birds eye view of.  An Arizona dirt storm – they’ve been having there a lot there lately. 

 

As we got closer to Scottsdale the pilot came over the speaker and said, “Folks what we are about to pass through aren’t clouds you’re seeing it’s a dust storm that is blowing in.  So please buckle your seat belts and prepare for turbulence.” 

I prepared to get my camera and snap a muse for today!  They gave me a hard time about bringing the Oklahoma Dust Bowl with me but what a sight!

Sparkle and Spur and dust it off when the going gets too tough

Dustie Bill

““You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.”  ~Maya Angelou

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Dirt, Fall, My hearts, Reflections, Sunshine, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

