The Grisso Mansion…

Working at my current job I have had the pleasure of meeting some of the nicest, most interesting and generous people.  I feel very blessed!  When I got asked to photograph the Grisso Mansion I couldn’t WAIT!  I just LOVE the Henderson family who currently owns it and I also LOVE the Mansion.  I’d never had the pleasure of getting to see anything but the outside until I met the Henderson’s and I am so appreciative of the opportunity to experience and learn about the history that is right here under my nose in the small town of Seminole, Oklahoma!

 

The Grisso Mansion, commanding a hilltop on State Highway 9, in Seminole Oklahoma is not only an attractive landmark, but on the National Register of Historic Places.  The mansion was a “dream home” built by W.E. Grisso for his wife Maggie.  Construction on the home began in 1926 and concluded in 1928 in time for Thanksgiving dinner.

Grisso, a visionary who believed in the future of Seminole and the state, was a physician, a pharmacist, rancher, oilman and land conservationist.  Although the house has been lived in by several other families over the past several years, it was continuously occupied by Grisso family members from 1928 until it was sold after Maggie Grisso’s health failed in 1976.  Although subsequent owners had made improvements and needed upkeep, the house remained basically the same until current owner Kenneth Henderson began work on the mansion. MANY improvements have been added to the house and property.

Modern additions include a matching six-car garage which boasts heat and air conditioning and a three-quarters bath.  One garage stall was built to accommodate a motor home.  Other outbuildings are used for storage and to keep the sprinkler system running. A two-story  garage/servants quarters are located to the back of the house.  Built at a cost of $750,000, the 26-room mansion has many unique features, including elegant walnut hand-carved doors, which are nine feet tall and over 2 inches thick.

Ironwork on the Italian Renaissance home was handmade and floors were covered with imported tile or wood parquet.

Rugs were hand-crafted in England, with newer carpets handmade in Oklahoma City by a decorator.

Each room in the house has a slightly different theme and sconces match the fixtures in design.  Door sills are of brass, guttering outside is solid copper.  Even inside doors of the house are extra thick and walls, constructed of hollow tile, brick and plaster, are 15 inches thick, reinforced with steel bracing in some places.

 

The Moorish woodwork is black walnut and carries out the theme of roses carved in door frames and on ceiling tiles. Most window sills are of imported marble. Brightly colored ceramic tile was used in the kitchen and baths.

The house boasts eight fireplaces, but all are gas powered.

Mrs. Grisso, family members say, said she had carried wood for heating and cooking all her life and she “never wanted to see another stick of firewood.”  Built around a central courtyard, the home also has a greenhouse, fish pond and storm cellar.  Windows in the living room are two stories high and are draped in pale green. A visitor’s eyes are immediately drawn to the enormous brass chandelier set in the two-story cathedral ceiling.  The entry door faces a working fountain, set into the wall and framed by Italian tile.

The curving stairway takes one up to a long hallway marked with minstrel balconies overlooking the downstairs.

Downstairs includes a music room, with crystal chandelier; a sunny yellow kitchen which looks like a cook’s dream; butler’s pantry; sunroom; a dining room which could accommodate a very large dinner party; half bath; and breakfast room.  Upstairs, the guest bedroom has fixtures which match the sconces and the fireplace.  It has its own full bath (with heated towel racks) and dressing room. Closets are all cedar lined.  The master bedroom boasts a walk-in cedar lined closet with pull-outs for hangers and drawers. The sitting room offers a view of the grounds. The study-library has access to a second story patio.

The full basement contains a large laundry room and drying room, a room-size cedar closet for off-season storage, a kitchen, game room with full-size pool table, and a guest bedroom with two queen size beds and bath.

The basement’s main feature, though, is the ballroom with a hardwood dance floor and raised wood parquet stage for a small orchestra. Ceiling fans circulate the air.

The secret garden, reflecting pool is my FAVORITE! 🙂 SO enchanting!

Lets not forget to mention the vineyards, pool house and cowboy campfire that’s also included! 🙂

 

If you’re in the market for a mansion that has quite a story and such CHARM then maybe you’ve found it……or if you’re in the market for needing real estate pictures….I know someone who can help with that too! 😉

This is my FAVORITE statue!  I’m SO appreciative of Mr. Henderson for letting me come take these pictures….I know he’s just being supportive and generous like always – bc he’s quite an experienced photographer himself! 😉

Sparkle and Spur and DREAM BIG

Dustie Bill

“We must not measure greatness from the mansion down, but from the manger up.”  Jesse Jackson

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Commercial, Favs, Friends, Garden, Real Estate. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Grisso Mansion…

  1. Karen Anson says:

    Hi, Dustiebill, I’m doing a story in The Seminole (OK) Producer about the Hendersons getting ready to sell the Grisso Mansion. Could I use one or two of your photos? I’ll be glad to attribute if you’ll give me the information. I’m working on deadline, though, so I’d need to hear from you pretty quickly this morning.

    Karen Anson
    Senior Editor

    • dustiebill says:

      Karen,
      I’m SO sorry, I hope I didn’t miss the deadline 😦
      I just got on here….you always have my permission to use anything you need. 🙂 I’m glad you like them. Mr. Henderson has copies as well. He was nice enough to give me a tour.
      Dustie

  2. Janice says:

    I was born and grew up in Seminole. I attended the Church of Christ with my grandmother. Mrs. Grisso was one of the regulars for after church canasta and I always played as a little girl. They always included me. When we were at the Grisso mansion, I would walk around and dream of being in a castle. I haven’t been inside in years and very seldom get into Seminole even to see the outside. This brings back a lot of memories.

    • dustiebill says:

      Janice,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I just LOVE to hear stories like this. I LOVE the mansion! The gardens, the history….I can’t imagine how it felt when you were little because I too old to still feel that “princess/castle” feeling it gives me now! 🙂 Thank you SO much for sharing. It’s on the market and I hope it finds the perfect buyer who appreciates its history as much as we do Janice!
      D

  3. Theo Parker says:

    I have been in love with this magnificent old house since I was 11 years old. Even after moving away to New York City for more than 20 years and traveling around the world, it’s still the greatest home ever built in my eyes = ) Thanks so much for bringing back so many fond memories.

    T H E O

  4. Thomas Grisso says:

    I would love to call this place home. Thank you for the great pictures!
    Thomas Grisso

  5. Michelle says:

    I love this home. I grew up in Oklahoma. Every time I traveled home on Highway 9 from OU I would slow down and admire the detail that went into the construction of this home. Thank you for the pictures. Until now, the inside of this home was always a mystery. I knew from the outside the inside would be magnificent and it is. Everything about this home is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

