Day 133: Things that matter

I use to roll my eyes when I’d hear “It’s not WHAT you know, but WHO you know.”

PUUULEEZE!  What a crock…. being pretty independent, stubborn and self sufficient I thought PSHAH…..I don’t need to kiss anyone’s rear to get where I’m going, but the older I get the more I realize that this statement is SO true and I’ve learned slowly it’s not always about “kissing rear” to get where you want to go. 

It’s about the little things that matter…..Like trying to be a good person, minding your manners, never being jealous of others – because Lord knows they have a whole new world of issues they have to face on their own, saying thank you, writing a quick note to a friend just so they know you’re thinking of them, taking time for the things that matter and along the way – learning that it IS about WHO you know – and how you treat them.

WHO we know teaches us WHAT we NEED to know……funny how that works huh?  Surrounding yourself with good people (the WHO’S) pushes us to be better people, teaching us about the little things that matter in life, challenging us to make the time for those things that matter most and prioritizing them so that they never feel neglected (the WHAT).

When we learn to put who and what together in the most positive way we get to be a part of the little things that REALLY matter and our worlds are happy!!

My muse today is one of those little things that matters.  Thomas listening so intently to an important WHO in his life teaching him all about the tractors he loves!  In the end it’s WHAT Thomas learned from WHO he knows that he’ll remember forever and that goes for each of us!

Sparkle and Spur

Dustie Bill

“Be the change in the world that you want to see.” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Country Life, Cowboys, Farming, Friends, La Familia, Tractors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 133: Things that matter

  1. Ashley T. says:

    LOVED todays post!! So profound & true 🙂

Leave a Reply

