To my Alma Mater…O~S~U~!!!

Stillwater, Oklahoma; Homecoming Weekend; OSU vs. Baylor; Saturday 2:30 game…..it doesn’t get much better than that! 🙂 Unless of course I was still IN college and fixing to tailgate and go to the game or go make some money bartending down on the Washington strip were I worked as a bartender and I listened to my mother constantly say, “You’d better not be missing class! I don’t know what you’re doing workin in a bar anyways….find something you can put on a resume!” 

Just for arguments sake I beg to differ…..Now, I’m not encouraging anyone to go adding bartending to their resume.  BUT….I problem solved (therapy to the customers….esp the ones who had been there awhile), was a team player (tips were split, we worked as a group), accounts payable (made sure the drawers were balanced, split the tips), creative thinking (always new drinks to be made, always trying to stop a fight, or always trying to make that $$), hard work (mopped and cleaned toilets and GOD knows what else at the end of the night), social skills (it takes more than standing there to work) and multi-tasked! All reputable things on a resume if you ask me! 🙂 haha! I’m joking of course, but this lil country girl learned more about the “real world” than any other job I’ve ever had and I’ve worked since I was 16….well, there was that babysitting gig and you see I’m 29 and still have no children so that might have had a pretty good “Real world” effect as well! 😉 haha!

 

Game days were the BEST days to work and so tonight I decided to make one of my favorite places at my alma mater Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK, Washington Street my muse……. GO POKES!!!  

On the good ole’ strip I made a lot of money, spent a lot of money, lost my keys, lost my mind, found $100 in a storm drain after a thunderstorm, found out who my friends were, worked a lot of night shifts, mixed a lot of cocktails, listened to some of the best live music of my life, heard some of the worst karaoke, learned how NOT to act and when it’s time to go home, heard some juicy gossip, saw a little too, made a lot of friends and even more memories and when the reel of video plays in my mind of “glory days” this is the spot I will always remember.  Just how it was, no matter what changes have come already or what they hold in the future.  FUN, FEARLESS and FREE…..I’m glad these sidewalks, bathroom stalls and walls can’t talk!

 Bye, bye Stilly, as we roll out of town…….

 

Sparkle and Spur and be a supportive Alumni~ GO POKES!!!

Dustie Bill 

“May we make ALL of our days GLORIOUS so they may all be ‘Glory days'” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Cowboys, Football, Friends, My hearts, Oklahoma Skies, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

