Treasures

I went to Texas to visit my grandma Carolyn over Fall Break.  It’s really the only family on my dad’s side that I have and have always had as a constant in my life.  She’s a Godly woman and we enjoy a lot of the same things like reading, shopping, traveling and entering sweepstakes!  She’s independent, a good person and an even better friend.  I’d do anything for her and I know she’d do the same. 

My pap-paw Jim was a pilot for Delta and they were able to travel the world and experience life together in ways that most people only dream about.  They would bring back many treasures from their exotic adventures that would remind them of where they’d been and what the culture was like.  I would always been kept informed about their travels through postcards and still LOVE to go back through the stack and look at all the different stamps and postcard pictures.  When they would return home they would ALWAYS have GREAT stories, a little foreign money, a book and a special treasure waiting for me.  That’s how I got bit with the travel bug….. I KNEW there was a great big ole’ world out there just waiting for me to go and see it!

After my pap-paw Jim passed away these treasures somehow provide a comfort.  Comfort of the life that was lived and of the memories that were made and are tucked away in the pockets of our hearts never to be forgotten. 

One morning I was up earlier than one should be on a “break” and I slipped downstairs to snuggle up on the couch, turned the corner into the dining room of my grandma’s house where there is a wall mirror and the tiniest sliver of light was shining through the curtains on this beautiful set of glasses…..just looks like a normal set of dishware…I can always remember being there.  But it looked different…shiny and new and like a perfect muse. 

I showed my muse to grandma and turns out it has a very special story and significance in my grandma’s heart…..not just a set of glasses, but a special grandma treasure. 

The ole’ saying “one mans trash is another mans treasures” rings so true these days when all anyone truly cares about is the bottom dollar and $$$$$!!!  BUT a treasure is a treasure to those who hold it dear and some “treasures” you just can’t put a price tag on.  Like these “ole glasses” or my most special treasure of all…..my grandma and her travel stories ABOUT her treasures!

Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie

The secret of a happy life isn’t buried in a treasure chest… it’s already buried within your heart.
Author Unknown, from Life is for Living

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Glass, La Familia, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

