Day 100: My umpires resume…

Most people do not understand the life of an umpire.  Some days I don’t either and I’m fixing to marry one!  Haha! 🙂   

But I do know this…..Baseball is a game of superstitions, traditions and lucrative misunderstandings…..I intend to keep it this way 🙂 and not make my blog about all the “secrets of the umpire world” so don’t click the dial yet, or get your hopes too up….. but I will give you little “sneak peaks” into what it’s like REALLY as the fiancé of one for now. 

 I’m doing this blog today because the one thing I get asked A LOT is…. What happens if he doesn’t make it to the “BIGS”?  Then what???….  I wished I had an easy answer for this, but with a umpire life full of “what if?” and “I wonder?” and hoping at the same time that we get that one phone call from the baseball gods that will change everyone life would make just about ANYONE crazy…… but to tell you the truth I’m ok with this…..actually I LOVE it! I LOVE getting to be a part of this crazy unknown baseball world of gypsy traveling and living on dreams.  It’s fun to dream with someone else and be a part of their world too.    

Umpiring is just like Rodeo and those crazy rodeo cowboys that hold a dear place in my heart too…..bc their always hoping to stay on that 8 seconds, not get a flat tire on the way to the next state over and praying to God that they don’t break that barrier so that they’re in the money and can pay for gas and beer to the next rodeo…..I LOVE this life because I lived that too…I just swore I wouldn’t marry into it (funny the irony)……BUT that’s how I’m OK with it….

To put it into cowgirl words……I COWGIRL UP and I “saddle up my horse” (pack my bag) and I “ride” (fly) onto the next “Rodeo” (baseball town) that my “cowboy” (umpire) is in……and we pray and we hope that he makes it to the “short-go” and we make a little money to make it to the next town.  

Nothing is ever promised tomorrow and I could be wondering what am I gonna do now at any given day so keeping that in mind his job isn’t really any different than the rest of ours except the resume might look a little different.  This is what my muse is all about today….My umpires resume!    

While the rest of the normal world is busy racking up their “resume accomplishments” my umpire is busy racking up his “road mileage, frequent flier, hotel rewards resume”…it’s not quite the same but I think his resume could safely beat any competitors in the “well-rounded” department.

His mom and he have this little tradition where they mark with pins all the places that he’s umpired games on a map in his old bedroom.  Every off season when he comes home they get the schedule out and push the pins in.  I LOVE this…everything about it…the tradition, the legacy, the mom-son time and the memories that are made and reminisced upon every time they do this.  I felt blessed to be a part of it this time when we came home.

 

So THIS is what an umpires resume looks like….a big ole map of push pins that mark the spots where miles were driven, memories were made, baseball games were called and LOTS of shenanigans were done (I’m sure).  He LIVES and gets to see the neatest things along the way!!   

 

Could he get a job with this if he “doesn’t make it?” I doubt the push pin map would help….this job might not help you look so great “on paper”, but it’s not always what’s typed on your resume that counts…. it’s who you are and what’s in your heart and I’ve got a GOOD ONE that I already think is pretty “BIG LEAGUE!”…the push pin map just helps!  🙂

 Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie Bill   

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover” ~Mark Twain

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Baseball, Beginnings, La Familia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 100: My umpires resume…

  1. Ashley Taron says:

    LOVE this blog! And the pic of Sid watching J put another pin in the map…proud momma 🙂

Leave a Reply

