Day 96: Piggly Wigglies

I LOVE pigs especially little tiny baby ones! Out of all my favorite farm babies that I’ve ever had (and we’ve been known to look like ole’ Mc. Donald’s farm) I have to say that I LOVE my pigs the most….horses are a close 1 ½ place!  

 

I showed pigs since I was 9, my first one was a Chester name Wilber off my favorite movie Charlottes Web.  Over the years we had dozens of them over the course of my show days and I named everyone, ate them for breakfast, lunch and dinner after show season (except for that first year when I realized the point of raising and showing…..was to eat them) and still to this day want a Vietnamese pot belly pig SO bad.

 

So you probably already know where I am going with this, but when I saw that they had three momma sows at the state fair ready to give birth I HAD to wait for the action.  Momma Sows can get up to almost 1,000 pounds.  These sassy ladies are usually preggo about 3 months, 3 weeks and 3 days or an average of 114 days.  This momma had a whopping 17 baby piglets in her litter….aren’t they the cutest?

 

Have no fear of these little bloody ears because this is called “ear notching”.  Each little piglet as it is squirted out (Labor could last anywhere from 30 minutes to 5 hours with about 15 minutes or more between birthing) they are notched by the universal ear notching system.  The right ear is where the “Litter Mark” goes (all pigs from the same litter have the same “ear piercing”) Just a little snip with the clippers and they’re all marked up.  So if this momma has had a litter before then these little guys will have 2 punch holes marking her 2nd litter in their ear. 

 

The left ear is for the “Individual Pig Mark” and this just means what order those little squirts crawled their way out the fastest.  Each pigs left ear will be different depending on if it was first or 17th

Not that you wanted to know about all that but now that you are educated just enjoy these pics of these sweet little curly tails and especially this sweet baby who fell asleep nursing! 🙂 I LOVE FARM BABIES!

 

Sparkle and Spur

~D

“The difference between ‘involvement’ and ‘commitment’ is like an eggs-and-ham breakfast: the chicken was ‘involved’ – the pig was ‘committed’.” ~unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Babies, Country Life, Livestock, Pigs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 96: Piggly Wigglies

  1. Oh now I want pigs!!! Those babies are adorable!!! My husband has wanted to get some but I wasn’t too excited over the smell! I could deal with it to see those cute little faces!

Leave a Reply

