The GREAT STATE FAIR of…..

OKLAHOMA!!! 🙂

I LOVE a good fair…..obvious by the post a couple before this, but I thought I’d take you on a new little adventure of the great state fair by letting you see it through the eyes of a participant….

You see as much as I LOVE the fair…My sister and I never really got an opportunity to tag along on the midway and ride the rides with our friends because my family does the fair a little different.  They BRING the entertainment!

Our sterotyped view of the fried food, flashing lights, farris wheel, carney dream is usually something a little more closer to this…. 

Or this view…. Haha! A little nicer depending on if you’re a cowgirl who like wranglers…or cinch…or lucky (hey cowpokes got style!!) 

This is what I call “steer jockin”…and it can be SERIOUS business…. it’s something you really have to experience for yourself to understand, but you can almost SMELL the testosterone in the cattle barn when it’s Steer showin’ day!  These men (and I know a couple ladies who can fit cattle better than some of those men) really get into this and it’s almost like a beauty shop/salon day for the cattle as teams of people dote over every hair on that things head….and body! 🙂

The cattle start with a good bath, then into the shoot they go to get blow dried, hair sprayed, shellacked and manicured to the eighth degree and……we wait for their class…….if ya got a REAL GOOD EN…then you’ll see the big parade of entourage bringing up the rear as the participant leads their prize steer to the show ring to test their luck at the judges discretion as he places the class and the entourage stands nervously around the ring and waits….

Now if you’ve noticed one thing you’ve noticed that this is all about the timing and the “hurry up and get ready so we can stand around and wait…but not wait too long or the glue (hairspray) starts to melt and the cattle get grumpy.” 

But as we were waiting I just couldn’t help but snap a couple of kiddos at the petting zoo exhibit…these baby chickens hatching were a HIT!!!

 

This is my sisters senior year to show and her steer “Oreo” didn’t have quite the “entourage” but they both sure looked pretty and she had fun!

 

While her entourage was a waitin….I just couldn’t help but snap a couple cute OSU cowgirls waitin and rootin on their showman too.  Aren’t these sisters just the cutest things?!?!  OHH I LOVE a REDHEAD! and I LOVE BIG OLE HAIRBOWS!!! 🙂 Caaaute! 🙂

So alas….the show was over and it was time for the MAIN EVENT!! The reason we all come to the fair……THE FOOD! 🙂

YUMMY!!!

NO fair would be complete without a view of the farris wheel! 🙂

FINALLY A little walk down the midway with my hunny and I LOVE the fair even more!!!

And when you’ve had enough of the fai they even have a place where you can give your “barking dog” a massage and a rest! Happy FAIR DAYS my friends! Go enjoy yourself!!!

Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie Bill

 “Everything being a constant carnival, there is no carnival left.”  Victor Hugo

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Country Life, La Familia, Livestock, Moo Cows, My hearts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The GREAT STATE FAIR of…..

  1. Aunt Tootsie says:

    Dustie, I love this!!!!! You are a super-duper writer and photographer. Actually, you are a super-duper everything!!!! Love you. Aunt Tootsie

Leave a Reply

