Day 92: Commercial and Event work…

The point of my 365-day photography challenge is to push myself, learn, ask questions and try new things – so what an opportunity when I was asked to photograph an event and do some new commercial work.

 

I decided to do a lil blog about it because I’m not sure my friends know that this is something I can do.  Remember that blog about “tooting your own horn” that I’m not very good at?! Haha! 

 

Also to remind my students who follow my blog to stretch beyond your boundaries….never shot food before? DO IT…and then put it in your portfolio to show your diversity. 

 

I LOVE vintage props which is why I’m a garage and thrift shop junkie, but they can come in so handy when I do commercial and private photo shoots

A lot of times when I tell people I do freelance photography they think I only do people photography (which I DO LOVE) but I would love to be known as a whimsical concept photography who loves to capture real moments in time who also moonlights commercial/editorial/event photography for private clients. (*Wink, Wink*)   

 

They also want to know about my equipment and editing programs but here’s what I have to say about that…..a paintbrush is just a tool used for the painter just like my camera is for my photography.  Not to be blunt because a darn nice camera can do wonders for your work but in photography I believe in my heart if you can see it in your mind….you can capture it using whatever camera you have handy.  I’ve seen great pictures taken from a phone camera now days.  But since you might be curious to know what’s in my bag I will disclose and tell you that I am a Canon loving baby (born and bred) EOS Rebel XS, I have a couple lenses, extra batteries and an external flash that is my new baby. 

 

I love to find colorful 1950’s prom dresses, hippy-gypsy loose clothes, vintage ANYTHING, cowboy boots, tutu’s, BIG MAKE-UP even BIGGER jewelry, Rodeo and I LOVE COLOR.

 I LOVE setting up and staging a mood and backdrop for shoots to give my photography the authentic feel.

 I love the photography process from start to finish.  I LOVE styling, staging, taking and editing photos.

 

Inevitably people want to about my “formal training” or credentials and here’s the deal….I am kind of a perfectionist.  I have a rampant imagination and it can be a real dilemma sometimes…. I like to know EXACTLY what I’m doing, what’s to be expected and execute.  But photography takes me away from all of that to a point because working with animals, children, lighting, weather….things you have NO control of make your perfectionism kinda have to take a flying leap off a cliff. 

 

Photography and I go hand in hand because it’s like it has a liberal heart but a conservative mind.  There are the Scientifics of the camera functions and operations.  You can study the optical lens and how light effects it, but when it comes down to it and it’s time to “do-work” on a shoot…..there is no time to be a scientist, it is time to be a free spirited dreamer, to let the wind carry you and to just capture the true art that your heart sees.  There is nothing you can do about a crying baby except capture the raw emotion of it!  I do believe in my heart I was always meant to be a photographer.

 

I studied photography in college, have taken a ton of weekend classes on the side for hobbyists, taken many online courses, attended workshops, bought amazon.com out of photography books, checked out books from the library, visited with my many other photography friends, read and read and read, searched the internet and….. I am practicing.  I find the term “self-taught” a little loose so I kind of feel like I educated myself with as many means and resources I could get my hands on of other peoples wisdom and material and “self-taught” myself what I like and what I don’t like.

 

I am still a work in progress; I think it’s safe to say we all are.  But photography is visual art, and art is interpretive differently from everyone, so what I may think is a masterpiece could be someone else’s abstract absurdity.  I’ll just let you decided what I am and when you figure it out let me know, ok? J   

 The most favorite shoots I’ve done when I look back are whimsical concept shots.  I LOVE props and I like to use them A LOT.  I will go to the ends of the earth to make an idea come to life.    

 

My favorite style is COLOR pop, vintage whimsical lifestyle.  I like the picture or series of photos to tell a story.  I love to shoot for private clients and get to meet them and explore their ideas too.  But I also shoot commercial/editorial work so if you have a business or merchandise that you are trying to sell or promote and you need the pictures to tell the story or sell the item then I am your girl.  Staged or modeled I can do it all, just bring me your vision and collaboratively I bet we can get anything you need done. 

 While my style does tend to get infused into my work alot this particular type of photography is a little more traditional and tends to showcase items rather than emotion. (Although my job it to try and combine both).  Usually when clients hire me to do commercial work for them it’s because they like my style and that is usually the best fit job anyways because you are both getting what we want.

 Just spreading my wings and trying new things and also sprinkling the word around. 

 Sparkle and Spur

~D

 “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them”. Henry David Thoreau

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Commercial, Event, Self and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

