I wanna be a Cowgirl Baby…

More cuties from the fair….I call this muse little pink pony! Aren’t these little rootin’  tootin’ cowgirls I’ve posted lately the cutest!?!

I always wanted a lil tiny cute pony to ride.  My little sister had a little miniature Shetland named Freckles when she was growing up and he was the cutest thing and she looked SO cute riding him.  I didn’t get to lucky to have a lil cute horse…I got baptized with fire.    

 

I remember when I was four, my dad putting me up on his “big horse” that he used to check his cattle with so I could learn to BE A COWGIRL.  I was a little scared but my dad reassured me the horse was “a gentle giant” and that’d he be right there if anything happened.  The horse seemed SO big when I got up there in the saddle and my legs weren’t long enough yet to kick him so he’d get up and go. 

So….. my dad smooched him, patted him on the rump…no success, the horse didn’t budge….. and so my dad then picked up a lil briar branch twig and tapped him in just the right place I guess.. because that bronco TOOK OFF!!!!  At what seemed to a 4-year-old at the time a DEAD RUN….around the feed troughs, through the field, jumpin’ and a kickin’ towards the gate.  Me screaming and holding on for dear life and my dad standing in the middle of the pasture yelling for me to “hold on,” “Pull back on the reins,” “tell him WHOA!!!”  I’m sure it was quite a sight and I’m sure he was scared to death of the wrath from my mother should anything happen to her cowgirl.  Haha!

I don’t think either one of us thought that horse was ever gonna stop running….until we made a mad dash for the corral and BAM!!! The barbed wire stopped him…dead in his tracks….daylight was DEFINITLY seen between my caboose and that saddle BUT I was still holding on just like he told me to do….and screaming WHOAAAAAAAAA at the top of my lungs!!

I wanted off that horse SO bad…….I never wanted to be a cowgirl again!  I thought my dad was gonna whisk me off that horse to safety and NEVER make me have to do that again!!   But my dad….. who wasn’t always given the credit for making the best decisions…. made a quick one that changed my life forever and taught me a lesson of a lifetime. 

He made me stay on…… he went inside the house and left “Dustie the 4-year-old don’t wanna be a Cowgirl anymore attitude” outside in the front yard on top of that “Gentle Giant” alone to ride around and around the house for 20 minutes.  I have NO DOUBT that he was peeking out the window the whole time checking on us.  BUT he didn’t let me get off….he knew that if I did I’d probably never get back on.  He made me face that fear and ride it out.

Those lessons stick….Just like the captain learns the most when the seas get choppy……in this case we learn the most when your horse runs away with you. (I learned that you don’t whip a horse with a briar bush twig and I learned what it really means to COWGIRL UP). 

We learn that when you get bucked off, you get right back on and spur it out.  We learn that when the going gets tough….it’s not the time to get off and unsaddle….it’s time to ride it out.  We learn how to dust the dirt off our britches.  We learn how to keep daylight from being seen between your rump and the saddle and we learn to hang on for dear life when it feels like it’s running away from you…..but the most important thing we can never forget that we learned is it’s ok to yell WHOAAAAAA sometimes! 

I WANNA be a COWGIRL BABY…..because it’s not just about riding horses it’s about the attitude and lessons we learn along the way!

FRIENDS!~ 🙂

 

Sparkle and Spur~

Dustie Bill

You will look back on the times you laughed and you will cry. You will look back on the times you cried, and you will laugh. You will always remember those close to you, and you will always keep memories of them in your heart. Life is hard, it’s tough! BUT tough times are there so you can really appreciate the good times later on!” ~unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Country Life, Ponies, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

