Day 84: Cowgirl RIRI

I just LOVE this family!  Tara and I have known each other for YEARS….I’m talking back in the playday, mom/daughter drill team, round-up club rodeo queen days – awkward growing up years. (The kind of years that we don’t post pictures of…..unless you’re Tara’s naughty husband Shane and you think it’s funny)   

Tara’s mom, Reda, was my teacher in middle school and I ALWAYS looked up to both the Marcussen sisters because Reda would sew the most BEAUTIFUL stuff you’ve ever seen and TRUST me….back in the day…. us Rodeo Queens had a hard time finding ANYONE who’d break a couple needles trying to sew us up some sequin outfits.

Tara is a COWGIRL…I have always looked up to her!!  Being older (and wiser) than me she would patiently try and show me the ways of the rodeo queen world and how to goat tie (nanny slam)…as fast as she could. (It is not possible – she’s FAST)  

Our families grew up doing the Pottawatomie County Free Fair together and I LOVED seeing her and her Cowgirl RIRI carrying on the tradition this year in lead line.

 

Now if  you think Tara is a cowgirl just wait until you meet COWGIRL RIRI!!!  

 

I just knew I was going to FALL in LOVE with this little cherub face the moment her daddy posted on face book one day that she wanted to be a “surfing cowgirl mermaid princess”! Now…That’s my kinda cowgirl!! Haha TOO CUTE!

 

So with a subject this close to perfect and a moment that is sentimental to my heart I could help but OVERSHARE!!

If the smile doesn’t win the judge over MAYBE the a rodeo queen wave will?!? 🙂

 

Of COURSE she can back up her pony for the judge! 🙂

I’m listening mom…really! 🙂

Annnnd the winner is…..

 

This is what the Pottawatomie County Free Fair is all about!! BLUE Ribbons that feel like a million bucks! $$$ 

Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie Bill

 “It’s the way you ride the trail that counts.”
Dale Evans – Famous cowgirl actress and wife of movie cowboy Roy Rogers

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Awards, Country Life, Friends, My hearts, Ponies. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 84: Cowgirl RIRI

  1. Heather Holley says:

    Love this so sweet!! She is precious!!

  2. Shane Tinsley says:

    Thank you so much. These pics are amazing and I’m so glad you turned me on to your blog. You have an amazing talent, both with the camera and words. I look forward to following you and your adventures. You not only made a dad smile a little more but you also brought a tear to his eye. Thank you.

  3. Tara says:

    Those are beautiful!!!! I need some of these for my wall! You do an awesome job!

  4. Linda Goodson says:

    Great pics!!!This going to go somewhere big trust me!!

Leave a Reply

