Day 82: Toot Toot…when you need a lil boost…

I’m intrigued by people who have the ability to “toot their own horn.”  Have you ever been in conversation with someone who can line drop their resume of accomplishments in a ten minute conversation?  It’s truly an art that not just everyone has.  I’m usually not very good at this and have read numerous books on how to be at least better about it in interviews where you’d better learn the “art” quick if you wanna sell yourself a JOB!

 All that readin’ must have paid of because today I’m gonna “toot-toot” J and also cheat and use my “muse” of the day as a picture of a picture…..Double sinner today! Haha!

 

BUT this sweet and handsome face that I come home to every day won me a big blue “Best of Show” ribbon out at the Pottawatomie County Free Fair this weekend!! 🙂 I can’t even believe it! EEEEK!!!  I feel like a 9-year-old 4-H’er who just won for the first time….and to tell you the honest truth after 20 years of being involved with the fair it IS my first time Best of Show award- I’m just no where close to being 9 anymore. SHAMELESS ~Happy Dance, Happy Dance~  (YES RADAR got an extra treat, although I’m not sure he knew why?!?) 😉

 For those of you who read the blog daily you will understand my pleasure of winning with my photography because the County Fair has a VERY SPECIAL place in my heart aaaaaaand the “boss lady mom” beat me in the canning department with our pickles and jellies!! *POUT* 😉

 But today’s lesson isn’t about big blue ribbon awards or recognition….it’s about learning to trust in yourself.  We all have unique talents that we are able to give to the world- no matter what your industry. 

 I’ve been told that there are no two people alike that share the same visions and talents and that is what helps us set ourselves apart, even in a world full of imitators.  It makes us individuals and gives us identity.  When we are able to tap into our talents and find confidence in them – that’s when the magic happens.  But what about those questions that pop up some days like – What am I doing?  Am I doing the right thing?

 People trick us everyday into believing they have all the knowledge and answers….they maybe educated on a particular subject or topics…BUT NO ONE has ALL the answers (if they do they haven’t passed the book this way). 

 I LOVE photography!! But sometimes when inspirations is low, progress is slow or weather has us rescheduling shoots I have those days where I wonder if I’m kidding myself.  Do others see my vision the way I do?  How do they interpret it?  Do they think it’s good?  Do I really think it’s that good?  Am I doing all I can to push myself to get better? Am I doing all I can do to be the best?  Questions and Insecurity…..YUCK!

 Then of course, every now and then we get a little sliver of inspiration from the happiness that other people appreciate our work/passion too!  I have to stop and remind myself to take a deep breath and enjoy the beauty of what I LOVE to do.  I encourage my friends to do the same.  It doesn’t matter if you don’t know the way or have all the answers….that would be the beauty of LIVING LIFE!  YOUR beautiful life!

 We’re our own toughest critics.  We should embrace the fact that NO ONE does it like YOU do and remind ourselves of that on the days when ugly insecurities rear their head.  Believe in yourself.  TRUST.  Accept who you are and rejoicing in your talents!! No matter if you are a teacher, mother, painter or poet!

 Keep doing what you love, even on those days you’re not sure what you’re doing….because somewhere, someone is wishing they could do what YOU do!  You’re talented and the WORLD needs you to help serve others!  SO go ahead and TOOT TOOT your own horn every now and then!! 🙂

 

Sparkle and Spur~

Dustie Bill        

 TODAY WAS A 4 INSPIRATIONAL QUOTE DAY!!!  

“Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent.”  ~Eleanor Roosevelt

“It took me a long time not to judge myself through someone else’s eyes.”  ~Sally Field

 “People, who know the LEAST about you, always have the MOST to say.” ~Unknown

 “Never explain. Your friends do not need it and your enemies will not believe it anyway.” ~ Elbert Hubbard

 

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Awards, Dog Days, My hearts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

