Not all who wander in a Heirloom Garden are lost…

I went into pay my water bill in the good ole’ small town of Earlsboro, OK (population 667) and there were these beautiful flowers growing outside.  I mentioned to the ladies how beautiful their flowers were holding up in the Oklahoma heat and she told me that her great grandmother had passed down an heirloom plant and she had brought them to work so that she could continue to spread them around.  With the 100 degree temps she was worried they would perish and she’d have none left.

 

She went right outside picked me a couple seedlings and sent me home with them and that’s the day I fell in love with Heirloom gardens….

 

NOW I must follow this up by saying that I’m not much of a green thumb….but I was Hell bent on NOT letting these precious tiny plants die…along with the story…I was already dreaming of walking my children (that I don’t have) through my lush heirloom garden…. dreaming about all the stories I would tell about how I acquired some of the blooms….so I rushed right home and planted it…..three months later the plants from Ms. Water Company have survived and are thriving…(My mam-maw would be so proud-she was quite a green thumb)

 

So a couple of weeks ago my mother broke me off a piece of wandering jew plant and I let it set for a couple of weeks in a cup of water to grow some little hair roots so I could replant it.  A second attempt to expand my little heirloom garden!

 

And Whalah…..here is its first bloom!  Success!!!

 Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie

 “Not all who wander are lost.” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Garden, La Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

