Day 76: Celebrate the Ordinary and Extraordinary…

Happy Labor Day! Hoorah! It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.  A day of celebration, a day off work and a day usually spent cooking out enjoying and hanging onto the last nights of summer before the leaves start to turn and it becomes fall.

 

But today in our house we are also celebrating the end of the MiLB baseball season and I spent the afternoon getting prepared for 3 hungry umpires and a house full of friends!

 

10 lbs of Potatoes!!!

 

24 cupcakes!!!

The season end re-reminds me how lucky I am to get to celebrate the ordinary things that other people do everyday like being excited to go grocery shopping with my umpire and dance in the isles well after the rest of the world is in bed bc he just got done with a game, getting to sit down and eat dinner at an actual table with our family and friends on a holiday and not be the only one there without a date or actually getting to see my hunny get his hands dirty rolling up the burgers!!  

Isn’t he handsome in his pink shirt that he wears out of the love for the one who bought it?!?! (ME)

 

It’s not about the BIG things in life it’s about the LITTLE ONES…like eating 16 hamburgers, 10 lbs of potatoes and fresh fried okra from the garden with our supportive friends and “baseball family” one last time before the umpire crew splits up and they all return home.  I’m appreciative of having been able to be a part of their lives – even for only a season.  Baseball is bittersweet to me because of this, but I also know I am one luck gal for getting to call these people my friends forever.

 

Leftover okra from canning yesterday was a BIG HIT!! 🙂

Celebrate the Ordinary today and everyday and HAPPY LABOR DAY!!!

 Sparkle and Spur

~D

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.” ~ Luciano Pavarotti

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Food, My hearts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

