Canning Queens…

It’s that time of year again here….Canning Queen time!  The family gets together for the Pottawatomie County Free Fair tradition and has for however long I can remember.  My mom and I (and now sister) can jelly, preserves, pickles and okra for our cabinets and to enter at the fair.  NOW this is SERIOUS business around here if you think you have ANY chance at beating some of those little old ladies who have been canning food in jars since before we had other options on the shelves at the supermarket!

So we start with the BEST produce we can find at the farmers market or (thank you neighbors Zac, Lauren and Chloe) family and friends.

I line up the produce by similar size, stuff them into the jars, get the “secret recipe” boiling on the stove (pickle day smells the house up), can the food and give em a hot bath in the pot.  Whalah! BEAUTIFUL OKRA! It’s still a little hot and cloudy but the more it sets the clearer the liquid will become.

This year I tried something new and canned some pickled veggies. 

 I LOVE homemade canned pickles, I LOVE entering our stuff out at the fair, but more than anything I love the tradition of family getting together – cutting up cucumber and laughing……and maybe winning a blue ribbon or two beating those ole’ ladies!  

Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie

Man can live about forty days without food, about three days without water, about eight minutes without air, but only for one second without hope” ~Unknown

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Country Life, Glass, La Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Canning Queens…

  1. Aunt Tootsie says:

    Dustie, I love this. You do have a goodly heritage!!!! It is so refreshing to see a young person being so involved with family……doing special things with them such as this….being a Canning Queen again this year. Mammaw would be right there with you, wouldn’t she!!!!! Your veggies are scrumptious looking!!!! They deserve a super 1st prize or more. Good luck. I love you…Aunt Tootsie

Leave a Reply

