Gazing Globes in the Garden…

Try saying that 10 times fast… 🙂

Today I wasn’t out and about much so finding a muse was a little difficult but I do enjoy gardening and watering my flowers and plants after a long day at work.  I also LOVE my “witch balls” I found for my water garden because no matter what the weather is, or if my green thumb let me down again and my flowers don’t bloom I can always count on these to give me a zap of color when I’m outside. 

“Witch balls” originated around the 18th century in England as a talisman to ward off evil spirits, witch spells, or bad luck. Eventually, this fell out of custom and people began to use them in a more decorative fashion as opposed to a superstitious one.  Whatever you’re feelings are on that is up to you BUT I just love them for the color and figure if a little hocus pocus works than it couldn’t hurt anything right?!?!

Plus the truth of the matter is honestly I am a terrible “green thumb.”  I LOVE working in the dirt and seeing the fruits of my labor grow but for some reason or another my plants just don’t seem to make it long and if they do they sure don’t look like the miracle grow commercial.  So the witch ball idea came to me when I decided that I was doing only “Aqua Gardens” and water plants are usually only green growers and this girls needs some color!! I’m getting better about planting flowers with age, but maybe that’s because I’ve been through more trial and error! Haha!  For now I’ll just water my floating water globes!

Sparkle and Spur

~Dustie

“My fake plants died because I did not pretend to water them.” ~Mitch Hedberg

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

