Silver Lining

Hi Friends!

I know my 365 photo challenge doesn’t officially start until the 27th, but I’m trying to brush up and get familiar with this blogging thing…..and you know me I love to converse aaaaaand today I also found some inspiration!  I’ve been feeling rather philosophical lately so bear with me….maybe it’s the summer heat or maybe it’s this new book I can’t put down. 

I LOVE to read.  My book indulgence right now visits the life lesson on “Starting with I.”  The thing that us “adults” forget about sometimes.  In this “throw-away” world it is always easier to blame the day’s troubles on “others” or “they need to’s”.  I’m very aware that I do this myself a lot more than I care to admit….      

So “I” decided that I wanted to change this.  But what does it really mean and what does it take to fully inhabit your own life?  What does it take to start to live each day with meaning and intent?  I’m learning that it means taking responsibility for it and realizing how important “I” is to the equation.  It is not about other people, it’s not about changing the world in big ways, it’s not even about accomplishing great things….it’s about doing the small things that give you life, bring you joy and fill your cup over with happiness – to fill your life with stories of your days.  THAT is how you help change the world and the lives of the people around you.  To REALLY live, you must be present in the biggest way possible.

When we find a change that we can make within ourselves then YOU are funding your own revolution! When you are having a down right sorry, ugly, no-good, very bad day……remember that the change can start an adjustment in your attitude.  Turn on the radio for three minutes and dance in your car, look up to the heavens and look for the silver lining.  There is ALWAYS a silver lining!

Oklahoma skies captivate me again… and move me to try and capture the silver lining of life that we all should be in search of.  Just a small beautiful reminder that really give the words weight and depth. 

 ~Sparkle and Spur

Dustie

 *Happiness is NOT something ready made.  It comes from your own actions.  ~the Dalai Lama

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Oklahoma Skies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

