Every flower needs a little sunshine to grow….

Welcome to my photography blog and thank you for your interest in it.   I’ve started it to strike up conversation about something I love with my friends and fellow photography lovers and to hold myself accountable as I challenge myself and push myself to try new things – in life and with my photography. 

I LOVE photography and everything about it.  I love to study it, I love to pass on what I’ve learned to others, I love that photography captures a moment in time that we will never get back – it’s the ONLY time we can actually “freeze time”.  I love the individual expression that each artists eye reflects in their work, I love to take pictures of anything and everything – most recently I’ve been drawn to the Oklahoma skies as they light up from the storms, get heavy with clouds and the sunsets seem to turn a little pinker.

Every flower needs a little sunshine to grow and so my 365 photo a day challenge is set to start on June 27, 2011 as I try to push myself to try new things, get more familiar with my skills and tweak my knowledge.  We are all works in progress and I encourage you to “write in the margins” with your comments, suggestions or encouragment (as I am prob going to need some towards the end).  I hope that you come along for the ride and maybe even push your self to try the challenge with me. 

Outer experience is a reflection of inner reality. Another way to say this is that whatever thoughts or feelings we are having towards the world around us are a reflection of how we feel within ourselves, or about ourselves…this is what makes the world of art so profound to me.  What is art to one person isn’t always considered art to everyone because of the first statement.  Artists usually put their heart and souls into their work, so if you stop to smell the flowers and look close enough you can usually see the world through their eyes in their artwork.  It’s interesting when we try to see the world through someone else’s view.  Challenge yourself to STOP and SMELL THE FLOWERS.   

Relection on things around us and within ourselves is an important part of learning…..
It’s easier to know where you’re going when you remember where you’ve been.

~Sparkle and Spur
Dustie

*”Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting.”  –Edmund Burke

About dustiebill

Born, raised and still trying to live life as an Oklahoma cowgirl. I have a travel loving soul and I LOVE photography. My blog has started out as a place for me to post my 365 photo-a-day challenge....I have now found a love for fine art. Specifically Horse or Western Inspired Photography. I love my husband, kids, DIY projects, horses, wine, lightening, post-it notes, colored sharpie markers, trolling garage sales, baseball, cooking, shopping, working outside in the garden and living a simple country life. If you own a piece of our work you own more than just a piece of art. Thank you for supporting cowgirls. Sparkle and Spur Dustie Bill
This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

